Happy New Year!

Happy New Year!

There were many visitors at the temple today! The weather was sunny and mild for a winter day. I’m sure many people were glad for such nice weather as they went out for hatsumode (“first shrine visit of the new year”).

To celebrate the beginning of 2012 there were traditional decorations up at Goten. If you look closely at the photograph above you’ll see a tangerine hanging in the middle of the straw banner. Inside, kagami-mochi was on display next to a seika pine arrangement.

Happy New Year!

2 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

  1. Dear writer,

    Hi, I live near Ninnaji and love to read your articles.
    I was just wondering, who is behind this blog?
    Are you one of the temple monks?
    The blogs are wonderfully insightful – and in smooth English too – such a luxury sometimes.

    Thank you, and I hope you keep up the great job.

  2. Hello!

    Thank you for reading our blog and for your comment!

    When I started writing the blog for Ninna-ji I was studying in Kyoto at one of the universities as an exchange student. Since then, however, I have started working and unfortunately haven’t been able to spend as much time here at the temple. Ninna-ji wants to make sure that it can reach out to English-speaking visitors, so although the writer may change in the future, we plan on continuing the English blog! Feel free to comment with any posts you’d like to see, I apologize that the posts have been more sporadic lately… Thank you for reading and sticking with the blog!

Comments are closed.